Think Lovely Thoughts…

I was completely obsessed with the 1954 Mary Martin musical of Peter Pan as a kid. It was right up there with Anne of Green Gables and The Little Mermaid, so it’s a *tad* strange that I am only now reading the book. As an adult, Neverland appealed less to me (perhaps Hook had something to do with that ; ) and it just sort of dropped off my radar. I came across an old copy in my bookcase a few weeks ago and pulled it out, but when I mentioned the book to my brother and he said it was fantastic, that cinched it. He said there was a perfect duality to it; that it was engaging for children and insightful for adults… And he was so, so right.  It’s humorous, witty, and has most definitely reignited my interest in Neverland. He also says there is a surprise ending not to be found in the cartoon or the musical. I’m only 1/4 of the way in & very curious.

I definitely recommend this book to anyone looking for a short, whimsical, fantastically written read!

Image

2 thoughts on “Think Lovely Thoughts…

    • I should update this blog & mention how much violence is in the book! Reminiscent of old Russian fairy tales in a way. It’s so subtle in the musical it never really dawned on me that they were running around the island killing one another. I was surprised to find out Peter Pan kills the Lost Boys when they start to grow up!

Leave a Reply

