What is Creativity?

Over the past two years I have had a number of eye-opening experiences regarding creativity. When I first began writing with the intent of publishing, I focussed solely on poetry. Then one morning, following an early walk with my dog, something peculiar happened. The idea for a chapter book began filtering into my mind; unraveling in its entirety while I stood there caught between enjoying the story and thinking ‘what the…’?! I had never experienced anything like it before, but I loved the storyline and decided not to overthink things. I jumped right into writing the book, which ultimately turned into a series.

Since then, I have had a number of wonderful experiences with the strange thing we call creativity. I’ve noticed that I enter the creative plane in a more noticeable sense when I’m walking or practicing yoga and meditation.

Have you ever had a similar experience? Do you feel as if we are solely responsible for our creative thoughts, or do you think there is more to it?

I used to think creativity was something that I could define. Now, not so much.

I would love to hear about your experiences!

Image

12 thoughts on “What is Creativity?

  1. It’s so true–creativity can strike at any moment. I find myself in the strangest places when a story-line or an idea for an art project hits me! I don’t think we are solely responsible for our creativity, though. It’s inspired by everything around us, like situations and people and places. I feel as if I’m simply the tool for this idea to be put out into the world.

    I loved this post! Can’t wait to read more of your ideas(:

  2. I’ve often contemplated this too… what I feel is that creative ideas are ‘floating’ around in the ether… they can be somewhat illusive, or can rush in, a flood of amazing concepts all at once. To access the ideas, we have to be open and in wonder of life and it’s gifts to fully tap into the creative field of possibility. I’ve also noticed that I can access many ideas that are not for me to manifest in the world. Perhaps I have felt an idea walk by me. That doesn’t mean I grab it and beat it into submission – some we must let go because perhaps that one is on it’s way to the more appropriate vessel. I find that the ideas that are meant for me are the ones that float in and stick around. Sometimes they wait for YEARS in the background of our everyday mind until we find the time, and courage, to explore them. Whatever the case… how wonderful!

  3. Just to share…..a similar tale. Was woken up one night in my home in India at the time, an entire book came through (and not a writer at all) – but, it was so strong and persistent could not be ignored. The first-draft was written, hmm, maybe 250 or more pages. It sits on a shelf, didn’t feel the need to proceed further, but it seemed the beginning to an ongoing adventure with words, with attending to and listening to what wants to manifest in the form of writing – and when it is that free, comes with much joy and peace……so nice to “hear” your tale.

    • That is such a lovely story, I am so glad you shared. Do you think that you will ever publish the book(s)? It certainly does come with much joy and peace, as if we are opening ourselves to boundless creativity & Light.

      • Hi! Well, don’t know if that book will ever go beyond its birthing……ended up doing a different book on India instead, wonderful true stories. If you want, take a peek, it’s under From India with Love on the blog…..joyful peace!

  4. That sounds wonderful, I will definitely take a look! I would love to travel around India, it is on the top of my list of travel destinations. Such a beautiful & inspirational land & culture.

Leave a Reply

