An Introductory Blog

I started this blog a few weeks ago and have been deliberating over how to begin. It occurred to me that this story would be a nice way to kick things off:

Last weekend, my brother asked if he could borrow a book sitting on my coffee table. My first thought was how I myself had been planning to read it. Did I really want to lend it out? My second thought was how terribly selfish it would be to say no.

I told him to take the book.

Less than five minutes later, I had a sudden urge. I pulled three books out of the lower shelf of my bookcase, revealing the back row.

And there it was: Water for Elephants. The book I had lost months earlier, leading me to overturn my apartment repeatedly.

How had it found its way to this strange location? What prompted me to look in exactly this place? Was it a coincidence that I had just lent out a book I wanted to read and almost immediately found another that I wanted to read even more?

Some would certainly call it coincidence. Others would call it instant karma. My mom calls it a Third Eye.

As for me, I’m not exactly sure what it is. But I do believe, coincidence or not, it’s a great reminder and life lesson. Give freely, and you will receive. Material possessions are nothing, selflessness and love are everything.

beach-sand-peace

I have spent the last two years writing children’s literature. It’s a fantastic process, and I am excited to share it with all of you as it unravels… the books, the characters, the illustrations by the exceptionally talented artists that I am collaborating with. We have a lot of really cool things in store.

I’m also hoping, however, to use this blog as an outlet for all things creative; thoughts, projects, hobbies, and anything else that takes my fancy.

I’m looking forward to meeting new people and drawing inspiration from your words and imagery.

Until we meet again,

Namaste 🙂

Image

Leave a Reply

